Geography 970

February 22, 2010

visualizing twitter

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jing Gao @ 11:08 pm

As I look around for Twitter visualizations, the following two caught my eyes.

Dreaming wall is a project ran in a historical square in Milan.  It displays sms messages sent by standing in the square or via the Internet – similar in many ways to Twitter.  Although more like action art, the movie clip looked nice, yet it still left me wonder where is the story of the crowdsoucing data.

PleaseRobMe.com raises the privacy issues associated with geo-twits.  It uses terms such as ‘left home’ and the user’s profile to work out if a house goes empty (assuming everybody lives on their own).  Some citation said it then links to a map showing where the now empty homes are, but I didn’t find the port to the map (maybe it’s turned off now?).  Spatial information is incredibly informative and powerful, but how can we make sure it is not misused / abused?  While I want all the data to be geo-referenced when working on a visualization project, I found myself giving the opposite answer to the question whether to publish my location when I’m just a consumer.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

